Atkinson Volunteer Fire Department

 

 

Code Red -Pender County

Code Red-Town of Atkinson


Fire Dept. Services

Residential Smoke Detector- installation and  system checks

911 Reflective Address signs (green in color)  $15.00 per sign

Pre fire surveys

Home safety inspections

Fire Prevention Materials and Sparky the Fire Dog


Important Dates

Biannual FD BBQ  Saturday September 15, 2018 at 4pm

Atkinson Fall Festival  Oct 6, 2018

Fire Prevention Week Oct 7-13, 2018

FD meetings every Wednesday night at 7pm

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
National Weather Service (fire weather) 
 
 
 
https://fiman.ncgov/fiman/   ( Black River weather station w/ flood gauge)
 
 
 

ATKINSON FIRE DEPARTMENT

Operated by the Town of Atkinson

Established in 1964

Fire District consist of Approx. 131 square miles (Second largest in Pender County)

Fire District in Bladen County that covers 2 miles into Bladen County from the Pender County line that is included in our six mile ISO fire rate district

(83,840 acres protected)

Contracts with Pender and Bladen Counties & US Dept of Interior-Moores Creek Battlefield

Provide Mutual Aid to Pender, Sampson, Bladen, and Columbus Counties

Operates one Fire Station located in Atkinson

Staff of 26 Volunteers (1 pending new applications)

Own 8 Fire Apparatus & 1 Support Vehicle

1 ATV Gator & 1 Cargo Trailer

1 Haz Mat/Rehab Trailer

1 Fire Prevention Trailer

 

Breathe ...
North Carolina Department of Environment and Natural Resources Division of Air Quality
Breathe Don't Burn!  Smoke from Outdoor Fires is Unhealthy to Breathe and Pollutes the Air


There are a lot of misunderstandings about outdoor or open burning in North Carolina. Some people think it's OK to burn trash in barreis because they've always done it that way. It's not. Others think it's always OK to burn leaves and branches in the fall. But that's not so in cities and counties that pick up yard waste.

The N.C. Division of Air Quality enforces the state open burning ruies and many local governments have additional restrictions on outdoor fires. Violating these rules can be expensive -- with fines as high as $25,000 or more for serious cases or repeat violations. Substantial fines can be assessed, even for minor or first-time violations.

If It Doesn't Grow, Don't Burn It The basic message of the state open-burning rule is simple: Only leaves, branches and other plant growth can be burned – nothing else. That means no trash, lumber, tires or old newspapers. If local pickup is available, you can't burn even leaves and branches. Do not burn:
• Garbage, paper and cardboard
Tires and other rubber products
Building materials, including lumber and wood scraps
• Wire, plastics and synthetic materials
• Asphalt shingles and heavy oils
• Paints, household and agricultural chemicals
• Buildings, mobile homes and other structures
 
Anything when the air quality forecast is Code Orange, Red or Purple What is allowed under the law? Homeowners can burn yard trimmings if it's allowed under local oridinances, no public pickup is available and it doesn't cause a public nuisance. Yard waste must not include logs more than 6 inches in diameter and stumps. Other allowable burning includes campfires, outdoor barbecues and bonfires for festive occasions. Landowners or contractors also can burn vegetation to clearland or rights-of-way, provided that:
Burning is done on the site of origin.
Prevailing winds are away from built-up areas and roads. If winds are blowing towards public roads, fires must be at least 250 feet away.
Fires are at least 1,000 feet away from occupied buildings.
Burning is done between 8 a.m. and 6 p.m., and nothing is added outside of these hours.
Other occasions where open burning is allowed - with DAQ approval - include fires for: training firefighting personnel; managing forest lands or wildlife habitats; controlling agricultural diseases and pests, and disposing of materials generated by hurricanes, tornadoes and other natural disasters. You may need a permit from the N.C. Division of Forest Resources or local governments before you burn, even for allowable purposes. However, such permits do not excuse a person from following the DAQ's open-burning rules.
Smoke Can Hurt You and Others Why does the state have such strict rules about open burning? Because smoke and soot from outdoor fires can cause serious health problems and pollute the air. Fires also can burn out of control, destroying forests and burning down homes. Smoke from a burning trash pile contains many pollutants that can cause serious health problems and damage the environment.
Although smoke from a fire may not bother you, it could be a nuisance and serious health threat for your neighbors, particularly if they have respiratory conditions such as asthma or emphysema. Potential health effects include:lung and eye irritation, headaches, dizziness, asthma attacks, coughing and even death. For more information on the health effects of pollution from open burning, see the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency's Web site, www.epa.gov/, and do a word search for "open burning."
Do not burn on “Air Quality Action Days," when forecasts are Code Orange, Red or Purple. For air quality forecasts, go to www.ncair.org or call 1(888)784-6224. Reduce, Reuse, Recycle A lot of open burning isn't necessary. Brush can be composted, ground up for mulch, piled up for wildlife, or just left to rot. Newspapers can be recycled. Old attic junk can be given away for someone else to reuse. By making a few sensible choices, you can reduce the amount of throw-away material you create in the first place. The possibilities are endless.
Take a look at what you've decided to burn. Isn't there something else you can do with it? For more information about reducing, reusing or recycling waste, contact the Division of Pollution Prevention and Environmental Assistance at (919) 715-6500 or www.p2pays.org.
Plan Ahead You don't need a special permit from the Division of Air Quality for allowable fires. However, you may need a permit from your town or local forest ranger. Open burning can be a nuisance, and local officials may establish.rules to reduce that nuisance. Check with local officials before you burn.
Open burning that is more than 100 feet from your home and within 500 feet of a woodland normally requires a permit from the N.C. Division of Forest Resources. DFR does not charge for permits. If you want to start an outdoor fire, contact a local forest ranger to find out if and how you can get a permit. You also may contact DFR headquarters at (919) 733-2162 or visit its Web site, www.dfr.state.nc.us. The DFR is primarily concerned with fire danger, while the DAQ deals with air pollution. Following one agency's regulations does not guarantee compliance with other agencies.
The N.C. Division of Air Quality is part of the N.C. Department of Environment and Natural Resources, The DAQ is responsible for maintaining and improving the quality of North Carolina's air. For more information about the division and laws for protecting air quality, visit the DAQ's Web site (www.ncair.org)
 
 
 

Where to Find Us:

Town of Atkinson
200 N. Town Hall Ave.

PO Box 160
 Atkinson, NC 28421


Phone: 910 283-7341

What's New

Have Questions, Need

Answers, or just want

to check us out, call or

come to Atkinson and

we will provide what we

can.

Print Print | Sitemap
© Town of Atkinson